Are you ready to make another list of New Year’s Resolutions?

Dr. Holleman from the Faculty Voice Blog wrote today that New Year’s Resolutions are a bad idea. I wish I can link to his blog here but I can’t because it’s an intra-company blog. According to Dr. Holleman, some of the reasons for this bad idea are:

    • In order to work, the “resolutions” have to be planned  and prepared for in advance.
    • Resolutions work when they start from a place of self-understanding and honest reflection.
    • Resolutions take serious motivation and they require serious self discipline.
    • Resolutions work when they have social support of friends and family

It’s too bad that I read his blog two weeks after I made my list of New Year’s resolutions. Otherwise, I would have given my list a bit more thought. But since I’m just an average Jane and like the other 44% of Americans, I do like to list “resolutions” for the New Year. I’d like to say though my list does come from a place of self understanding and reflection. I am holding myself accountable by actually tracking my progress throughout the year. I have committed resources and time to each of the listed item so that I won’t be slacking off.  I even marked on my digital calendar(s) when I want things to start. And, unlike most people, I will not beat myself up if I don’t get all of the things I want to do on the list by December 31, 2012. I will beat someone else up. 🙂 Just joking!

Here’s my simple Excel file with a list of my New Year’s Resolutions. If you’d like to know how to create one, jog down your email below, and I will send you a video blog of how it was made. Even if you don’t care much for New Year’s Resolutions, this video blog will show you how to make a fun bar chart with conditional formatting.

I wish everyone a super fantastic New Year.

This entry was posted in Excel, Freebies, Fun things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

