Social clubs and committees

I recently joined a book club.  I would say 90% of the members are attorneys.  Yes, I know, it’s pretty weird that an accountant like myself is their mix.  I was having second thoughts during the first few minutes about whether or not I can carry conversations if law was discussed. Suprisingly, these down to earth attorneys know to leave their work at the door.  I learned amazing things about them.  And, I learn something very powerful about social clubs. One of the lawyers, a very chatty and highly energetic member, told the club leader he found the perfect spot for next month’s luncheon/discussion.  Unfortunately the restaurant he found currently does not serve vegan meals.  And, he’s a vegan.  He recounted how he pulled the restaurant’s manager aside and said, “Well, you know, I belong to a lot of social clubs. Wherever I go, I can bring a lot of customers to your restaurants. It would be nice if you have just a few dishes for people like me.” 

What a powerful thing. Here’s a man who learned how to appropriately leverage his connections to get what he wants.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

