Profile: Kelli B.

Over the coming months, I am going to profile people I admire on Finance at Work. These people are my role models because of their determination, resiliency, and strong work ethics. They have done what we all struggle to do. More import, they do it with grace and ease; they make me want to strive harder towards my goals. In this first series, I want to introduce my readers to Kelli B.

Kelli is a dedicated employee. Her colleagues all praised her in one of the recent Employee Recognition events as a go getter and team player. Kelli is also a busy soccer mom of four boisterous young children. In short, Kelli is a busy bee like many of us.

Yet, Kelli has done the most amazing thing. She lost 33 pounds in just a few months. Every time I see Kelli I am always shocked at how good she looks. She is still the same easy going Kelli I have known for more than three years but she sure can pull off a pair of skinny jeans like a fashion model. She is more confident and more charming. One day, I approached Kelli and begged her to share with me her secrets to success. Here is her story in her own words.

Vivian: What is your total weight loss so far?

Kelli: To date 33lbs

Vivian: What is your goal?

Kelli: I want to lose 45lbs

Vivian: When did you start?

Kelli: Let’s see, I started exercising for better health 18 months ago; actual weight loss program started 11 months ago. I want to take it slow and change my whole life style to a healthier one, not just lose weight.

Vivian: Describe some of your fitness program details.

Kelli: I did not know how at first. I had to learn. I joined Weight Watchers. I exercise 45 minutes a day, 5 days a week. If I feel great that week, I will go for 7 days. To help me stay on track, I reached out to the Wellness Coordinators at work. I train mostly with Terrick and have taken classes with Corinna also.

Vivian: What are some of the things you do?

Kelli: I start out with a 5 minutes cardio warm-up on the elliptical or the treadmill, then I do different types of weight training alternating upper and lower body on different days… I do free weights, machines, medicine ball – step ups, lunges, and squats. My workouts are never routine. I mix it up to keep my muscles in shock which helps them to continue trimming and building. Burns a lot of fat that way.

Vivian: What drove you to do this?

Kelli: The need to keep up with my kids, and various health issues that were popping up at too early an age

Vivian: What is motivating you to keep going?

Kelli: My kids and my love of shopping. I have gone from a size 14-16 to a size 6-8 so far. I even lost a whole shoe size

Vivian: If someone wants to start something similar, what do they need to do?

Kelli: The first thing would be to get a plan and set a small goal. I started off saying I want to lose 10 lbs. Once I reached that I set another goal. Also, be sure to set out the time to follow through. I work out during lunch because my home schedule is so hectic. Most people don’t want to go the rest of the day at work with flat hair from sweating, but I think of the bigger picture and how much it’s benefitting me.

Vivian: What are your next goals?

Kelli: I still have 12 lbs I’d like to lose, and then I have to figure out how to maintain the weight loss for 6 months.

Vivian: Tell us about the Go Red Event on February 4th.

Kelli: I will be in the Go Red Fashion Show. High blood pressure and heart disease run in my family, which is a major reason why I started the weight loss.

Vivian: What is the most satisfactory thing about the “new” Kelli?

Kelli: I have more energy now, and I don’t have to take 5 different meds every morning

Vivian: Hot dang it, woman, you rock!

This entry was posted in Profile. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

