Riding the bus to work

I attempted to ride the bus to work this morning. I left the house at 6:50 am and arrived at bus stop 9 minutes later. And, about 3 minutes later (voila!) bus line 113 appeared.  I have to say, it was not as bad as I thought it would be. The seat was relatively comfortable.  I got to work a little bit over an hour later but that included a transfer and a brisk walk.  The total ride cost $1.25. Not too shabby.  I might consider doing this more often – 2 days out of a week. I might get some reading in while on the bus.

If I can make a recommendation to Metro, I would recommend more and better route information.  It took a friend an investigative amount of work to determine my route today. Metro needs to make it easier for riders to get that information.  Also, the routes need to be digitally displayed inside metro buses so that riders know where they are and where they will be. Duh!

When I was in India, where they speak Hindi (and some English), it was a whole lot easier to get on and off of a bus than this.

This entry was posted in Personal finance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

